Our Mission

Our Mission

Our MissionDid you know more than 70 percent of the earth's surface is covered by water?  That means our oceans, rivers, lakes and streams are critically important to the overall health of our planet.   The Oklahoma Aquarium is dedicated to the mission, “To educate and inspire conservation of our aquatic world through interactive discovery." 

The Oklahoma Aquarium is a 501 (c) 3 nonprofit, so all money collected through admission, memberships and events goes directly to supporting our exhibits and educational programs.


The Oklahoma Aquarium opened its doors to the public on May 28, 2003, but the facility became a dream and a passion for founders Dr. P.R. Ramey and Doug Kemper in 1984.  From an idea literally drawn on a napkin, the Oklahoma Aquarium weathered many trials through building support and fundraising until the vision of Jenks city leaders led the Oklahoma Aquarium Foundation to settle on a plot of land on the west bank of the Arkansas River.


Oklahoma Aquarium Foundation Board of Directors  
Steven Baker - Public Service Company of Oklahoma
Diana Beaulieu - Retired, Broken Arrow Public Schools
Jeff Bonds -  Neuens, Mitchell, Freese, P.L.L.C.
William Cole - Helicomb International
Randy Ewing - Retired, City of Jenks
Jerry Floyd - River Spirit Casino
George Foldesy- Commerce Bank
Darren Fuqua - HRB Consultants
Martin Garber - Garber & Associates
Kevin Gore – BKD, LLP
Matthew Griffin - Taproot Properties
Dason Gwartney - Premier Consulting Partners, Inc.
Laura Hill - The Williams Companies, Inc.
Jeremy Johnson - Bank of Oklahoma
Carey Jolin- ONEOK, Inc.
Paul Maness - NORDAM
Galen Martens - First Oklahoma Bank
Steve McClellan - Coffey, Senger, McDaniel
Keith Montgomery - Community Volunteer
Lisa Nichols - Community Volunteer
Shawn Orth - Zeeco, Inc.
Michael Osborne - Ernst & Young
Marco Placencia - Equitas Realty Advisors, LLC 
Mike Pregler - M.A. Pregler Consulting
Dr. P.R. Ramey – Chair Emeritus
Harvie Roe – AmeriTrust Corporation
Kristal Sack - Tulsa Technology Center
Brian Scott - Arvest Bank
Dave Shirley - Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oklahoma
Jennifer Shoulders - Community Volunteers
John Sieler - Aquarium Volunteer
Jan Skinner Aquarium Volunteer
Derek Smithee – Oklahoma Water Resource Board
Stephen Sutton - Summit Financial Group
Tiny Tomsen – NatureWorks , Inc.
John Vollbrecht - FlyingTee
Fred Wightman - Community Volunteer
Teri Bowers - Executive Director
Jenks Aquarium Authority
Jeff Bonds - Trustee
Cory Box - Trustee
Keith Montgomery – Trustee 
Harvie Roe – Trustee
Mike Sharp - Vice-Chair
Bo Summers - Trustee
Dr. Josh Wedman - Chair
Teri Bowers - Chief Operating Officer
Chris Shrout - Interim General Manager
Jenks City Council
Cory Box - Councilor
Robert Lee - Councilor
Craig Murray - Councilor
Mike Sharp - Vice Mayor
Lonnie Sims – Councilor
Bo Summers - Councilor
Dr. Josh Wedman - Mayor 
Chris Shrout - Interim City Manager